Meet the New Motor Vehicle Board Members

An image of all the board members. Small picture of Ramon Alvarez C. Small picture of Kathryn Doi Small picture of Anthony A. Batarse Jr Small picture of Rahim Hassanally Small picture of David Lizarraga Small picture of Bismarck Obando Small picture of Victoria Rusnak Small picture of Glenn Stevens Small picture of Ardashes Kassakhian
Picture of Ramon Alvarez

Ramon Alvarez C. — President, Dealer Member

Mr. Ramon Alvarez C. was appointed by Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger in March 2007, and reappointed in November 2010. Governor Edmund G. Brown reappointed Mr. Alvarez in April 2014 and again in July 2018. Mr. Alvarez has served as a member of the Administration Committee, and as chair and a member of the Fiscal Committee, Board Development Committee, and Government and Industry Affairs Committee and the Executive Committee. He is currently a member of the Government and Industry Affairs Committee. Previously Mr. Alvarez served two terms as Vice President, and two terms as President

Mr. Alvarez founded the Alvarez Lincoln Mercury dealership at the Riverside Auto Center in October 1995 and added Jaguar in October 2001. He is also the first Hispanic to own a Jaguar dealership in the western United States. In 2010, Mr. Alvarez founded Alvarez Electric Motors Company. This is a distribution car company for electric cars. On January 15, 2011, Mr. Alvarez launched a Hispanic car radio show in Houston, Texas, "El Show de Don Ramon", that addresses the need for information in the Hispanic community on how to buy new and used cars and trucks. The Show was in partnership with Univision Radio. Mr. Alvarez is widely recognized as one of the leading Hispanic entrepreneurs in the United States.

Mr. Alvarez is a past member of the board of directors of the California Chamber of Commerce and has served on the boards of the Greater Riverside Chamber of Commerce, Riverside Hispanic Chamber of Commerce (past president), Inland Empire Economic Partnership (past president), Riverside Community Hospital, YMCA, March of Dimes and Professional Golfers Association (PGA) Advisory Committee. Mr. Alvarez was a commissioner for the Access to Justice Commission in California, and was the past president of the Western United States for the Boy Scouts of America. He has also been a member of the Riverside Community College Foundation and the Raincross Club.

Mr. Alvarez has been recognized for his professional and community service, including the Riverside Hispanic Business of the Year (1996-2015), Greater Riverside Chamber of Commerce Business of the Year (1996), Ford Motor Company Society of Leasing Professional Dealer Award (1996), Ernst & Young Outstanding Entrepreneur (1999), and the National Latin Business Association Business of the Year (2016). Mr. Alvarez's term will expire in January 2022.

image star in blue circleNMVB Featured Pages


Picture of the New Motor Vehicles logo

1507 21st Street, Suite 330
Sacramento, CA 95811
Phone: (916) 445-1888
FAX: (916) 323-1632