§ 553. Annual Board Fee.

(a) Pursuant to section 11723 of the Vehicle Code, every applicant for a license as a
new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, and every applicant for renewal of a license
as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, shall pay to the department for each
issuance or renewal of such license, the sum of $300.00, per year of licensure, in
addition to all other fees now required by the Vehicle Code.

For the purposes of this section, a dealer or dealer branch which is enfranchised to
sell both new motorcycles and new motor vehicles other than motorcycles shall be
subject to a licensing fee for sales of motorcycles and a licensing fee for sales of motor
vehicles other than motorcycles.

(b) Pursuant to section 3016 of the Vehicle Code, every new motor vehicle
manufacturer and distributor shall pay to the Board an annual fee of $.45 per new motor
vehicle distributed by the manufacturer or distributor which was sold, leased, or
otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such new motor vehicles during the
preceding calendar year, provided, however, that the fee to be paid by each
manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than $300.00.

The board may waive fees for a new motor vehicle manufacturer or distributor licensed
in California, based on a determination that the manufacturer or distributor either does
not sell vehicles in California or does not have an independent dealer or dealer branch
in California.

Note: Authority cited: Section 3050(a), Vehicle Code. Reference: Sections 11723 and
3016, Vehicle Coderand-Section-472.-5(b), Business-and-Professions-Code.

§ 553.10. Statement of Number of Vehicles Distributed.

(a) All manufacturers and distributors of new vehicles (as defined in section 430 of the
Vehicle Code) are required to file a written statement with the Board on or before May 1
of each calendar year. The statement shall include:

(1) The number of new motor vehicles distributed by the manufacturer or distributor
which were sold, leased, or otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such
new motor vehicles during the preceding calendar year;

(2) The name and business address of other manufacturers and distributors who are
required to submit a statement reporting the distribution of the same new motor
vehicles;

(3) The name and business address of the person or persons authorized to receive
notices on behalf of the manufacturer or distributor.

(b) If the information required by subdivision (a) is not received by the Board within the
applicable time period or it is determined by the Board that the information that is
received is substantially inaccurate as compared to the registration information derived
from the records of the Department of Motor Vehicles, it shall be presumed that the
number of new motor vehicles sold, leased, or otherwise distributed in this state by or
on behalf of the non-reporting entity during the preceding calendar year is equal to the
total number of new registrations during the period in question of all vehicles
manufactured or distributed by the non-reporting entity as derived from the records of
the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Note: Authority cited: Section 3050(a) and 3016, Vehicle Code. Reference: Section
3016, Vehicle 472-5(b)and{c)}{2); Business-and-Professions Code.
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§ 553.20. Determination of Annual Board Fee.

Upon receipt of the information required by Section 553.10(a), or as determined by
Section 553.10(b), the Board shall calculate the Annual Board Fee to be paid by each
manufacture; manufacturer and distributor by multiplying the annual fee per vehicle (as
set forth in Section 553(b)) by the number of new motor vehicles distributed by the
manufacturer or distributor in the preceding calendar year provided, however, that the
fee to be paid by each manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than $300.00. The
Board shall thereafter send a written notice by regular mail or electronic-mail eertified
mail—returnreceiptrequested; to each manufacturer and distributor stating the number
of new motor vehicles distributed by the manufacturer or distributor and the amount of
the fee to be paid.

Payment of the fee shall be made to the New Motor Vehicle Board no later than thirty
(30) days after the date of receipt of the notice.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 3050(a) and 3016, Vehicle Code. Reference: Section

3050(a) and 3016, Vehicle Code 472-5(b){e)})and{e)}{2)-Business-and-Professions
Code.

8 553.30. Noncompliance.

The New Motor Vehicle Board may consider any failure of a manufacturer or
distributor to comply with any provisions of Article 1, Section 553.10 or 553.20 to be
good cause to exercise its authority pursuant to Vehicle Code Section 3050(c).

Note: Authority cited: Sections 3016 and 3050(a), Vehicle Code. Reference: Section
3050(c), Vehicle Code.

§ 553.50. Obligation to Comply.

(a) All manufacturers, manufacturer branches, distributors and distributor branches of
new motor vehicles (as defined in Business and Professions Code Section 472.5(e)
472(a)) are required to file a written statement with the New Motor Vehicle Board on or
before May 1 of each calendar year. The statement shall include:

(1) The number of new motor vehicles distributed by the manufacturer or distributor
which were sold, leased, or otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such
new motor vehicles during the preceding calendar year;

(2) The name and business address of other manufacturers and distributors who are
required to submit a statement reporting the distribution of the same new motor
vehicles; and

(3) The business address and name of the person or persons authorized to receive
notices on behalf of the manufacturer or distributor.

(b) Payment of the fees pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 472.5
shall be the responsibility of the manufacturer or distributor which authorizes a retail
seller, including a dealer, franchisee, or lessor (as those terms are defined in the
Vehicle Code), to sell, lease, or otherwise distribute the new motor vehicles.

Note: Authority cited: Section 472.5(), Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 472.5(b}-and(f), Business and Professions Code; and Sections 285, 331.1
and 372, Vehicle Code.



§ 553.70. Payment of Fees.

The New Motor Vehicle Board shall determine the fee to be assessed per vehicle by
dividing the dollar amount necessary to fully fund the certification program for the
Arbitration Certification Program by the number of new motor vehicles sold, leased, or
otherwise distributed in California during the preceding calendar year. For calendar year
2010, the fee shall be $.989 per vehicle.

Upon receipt of the information required by Section 553.50(a), or as determined by
section 553.60, the New Motor Vehicle Board shall send a written notice by certified
mail, return receipt requested, to manufacturers and distributors subject to the fee
assessment stating the number of new motor vehicles (as defined in Business and
Professions Code Section 472.5(e)) distributed by the manufacturer or distributor and
the amount of the fee to be paid.

Payment of the fee shall be made to the New Motor Vehicle Board no later than thirty
(30) days after the date of receipt of the notice.

NOTE: Authority cited: Section 472.5(f), Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 472.5(b), (c) and (e), Business and Professions Code.

§ 553.72. Transmittal of Fees by Mail.

No penalty shall be imposed for delinquent payment of any fee required to be paid
under this article in the event any instrument for effective payment of such fee is placed
in the United States mail or in any postal box maintained by the United States Postal
Service with sufficient identification, in an envelope with postage thereon prepaid and
addressed to the New Motor Vehicle Board, 1507 21st Street, Suite 330, Sacramento,
California, 9581411 prior to the date the fee becomes delinquent.

Note: Authority cited: Section 472.5(f), Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 472.5(b) and (d), Business and Professions Code.



