§ 553. Annual Board Fee.

(a) Pursuant to section 11723 of the Vehicle Code, every applicant for a license as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, and every applicant for renewal of a license as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, shall pay to the department for each issuance or renewal of such license, the sum of $225.00 $300.00, per year of licensure, in addition to all other fees now required by the Vehicle Code.

For the purposes of this section, a dealer or dealer branch which is enfranchised to sell both new motorcycles and new motor vehicles other than motorcycles shall be subject to a licensing fee for sales of motorcycles and a licensing fee for sales of motor vehicles other than motorcycles.

(b) Pursuant to section 3016 of the Vehicle Code, every new motor vehicle manufacturer and distributor shall pay to the Board an annual fee of $.338 $.45 per new motor vehicle distributed by the manufacturer or distributor which was sold, leased, or otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such new motor vehicles during the preceding calendar year, provided, however, that the fee to be paid by each manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than $225.00 $300.00.

The board may waive fees for a new motor vehicle manufacturer or distributor licensed in California, based on a determination that the manufacturer or distributor either does not sell vehicles in California or does not have an independent dealer or dealer branch in California.

Note: Authority cited: Section 3050(a), Vehicle Code. Reference: Sections 11723 and 3016, Vehicle Code; and Section 472.5(b), Business and Professions Code. 

