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Title 13, California Code of Regulations 

Amend Sections 553 and 553.20 
 
The New Motor Vehicle Board has illustrated the changes to the original text in the 
following manner: 
 

 Text proposed to be deleted for the 45-day comment period is displayed in 
strikeout type. 

 Text proposed to be added for the 45-day comment period is displayed in italic 
underline type. 

 Text proposed to be deleted for the 15-day comment period is displayed in 
double strikeout type using a “ – “. 

 Text proposed to be added for the 15-day comment period is displayed in 
italicized double underline “. 

 
§ 553. Annual Board Fee. 
 
(a) Pursuant to section 11723 of the Vehicle Code, every applicant for a license as a 
new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, and every applicant for renewal of a license 
as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, shall pay to the department for each 
issuance or renewal of such license, the sum of $300.00 “$400.00” $350.00, per year of 
licensure, in addition to all other fees now required by the Vehicle Code. 
 
For the purposes of this section, a dealer or dealer branch which is enfranchised to sell 
both new motorcycles and new motor vehicles other than motorcycles shall be subject 
to a licensing fee for sales of motorcycles and a licensing fee for sales of motor vehicles 
other than motorcycles. 
 
(b) Pursuant to section 3016 of the Vehicle Code, every new motor vehicle 
manufacturer and distributor shall pay to the Board an annual fee of $.45 “$.60”  $.50 
per new motor vehicle distributed by the manufacturer or distributor which was sold, 
leased, or otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such new motor vehicles 
during the preceding calendar year, provided, that the fee to be paid by each 
manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than “$300.00 if 1-250 vehicles were 
distributed or $450.00 if 251-806 vehicles were distributed” $350.00. 
 
The board may waive fees for a new motor vehicle manufacturer or distributor licensed 
in California, based on a determination that the manufacturer or distributor either does 
not sell vehicles in California or does not have an independent dealer or dealer branch 
in California. 

 
Note: Authority cited: Section 3050(a), Vehicle Code. Reference: Sections 3016 and 11723, Vehicle 
Code.  



§ 553.20.  Determination of Annual Board Fee. 
 
Upon receipt of the information required by Section 553.10(a), or as determined by 
section 553.10(b), the Board shall calculate the Annual Board Fee to be paid by each 
manufacturer and distributor by multiplying the annual fee per vehicle (as set forth in 
section 553(b)) by the number of new motor vehicles distributed by the manufacturer or 
distributor in the preceding calendar year provided, however, that the fee to be paid by 
each manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than “$300.00 if 1-250 vehicles were 
distributed or $450.00 if 251-806 vehicles were distributed” $350.00.  The Board shall 
thereafter send a written notice by regular mail or electronic-mail to each manufacturer 
and distributor stating the number of new motor vehicles distributed by the manufacturer 
or distributor and the amount of the fee to be paid.  
 
Payment of the fee shall be made to the New Motor Vehicle Board no later than thirty 
(30) days after the date of receipt of the notice. 
 
NOTE:  Authority cited:  Section 3050(a) and 3016, Vehicle Code.  Reference:  Sections 3016 and 
3050(a), Vehicle Code. 


