
 

 

NEW MOTOR VEHICLE BOARD 
 

TEXT OF PROPOSED REGULATION 
 
 
Title 13, California Code of Regulations, Article 1 
 
§ 553. Annual Board Fee. 
 

(a) Pursuant to section 11723 of the Vehicle Code, every applicant for a 
license as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, and every applicant for renewal 
of a license as a new motor vehicle dealer or dealer branch, shall pay to the department 
for each issuance or renewal of such license, the sum of $300.00 225.00, in addition to 
all other fees now required by the Vehicle Code. 

For the purposes of this section, a dealer or dealer branch which is enfranchised 
to sell both new motorcycles and new motor vehicles other than motorcycles shall be 
subject to a licensing fee for sales of motorcycles and a licensing fee for sales of motor 
vehicles other than motorcycles. 

(b) Pursuant to section 3016 of the Vehicle Code, every new motor vehicle 
manufacturer and distributor shall pay to the Board an annual fee of $.45 .338 per new 
vehicle distributed by the manufacturer or distributor which was sold, leased, or 
otherwise distributed in California to a consumer of such new motor vehicles during the 
preceding calendar year, provided, however, that the fee to be paid by each 
manufacturer or distributor shall not be less than $300.00 225.00. 

    
 
Note:  Authority cited:  Section 3050(a), Vehicle Code.  Reference: Sections 11723 and 
3016, Vehicle Code; and Section 472.5(b), Business and Professions Code. 
 


